Cyber Essentials – all you need to know

Cyber Essentials is a UK government scheme that outlines steps that organisations can take to secure their systems.

The scheme contains five controls that cover the basics of effective information security. They can be implemented by anyone who has familiarised themselves with the scheme regardless of their information security knowledge.

Despite the scheme’s focus on only the fundamentals of cyber security, it is hugely beneficial to anyone who certifies. Those who follow the Cyber Essentials scheme can prevent about 70% of cyber-attacks.

Here we explain the five controls of Cyber Essentials and how they keep organisations safe.

How does Cyber Essentials work

Most criminal hackers aren’t state-sponsored agencies or activists looking for high-profile targets, and they don’t spend countless hours staking out and researching their targets.

Most are opportunistic, looking for any available target. In that regard, you can think of them as a burglar. Yes, they’re aware of high-value targets, but it’s more effective to go after easier targets. Could this be you?

A burglar identifies targets by scouting neighbourhoods and looking for poorly protected homes Cyber criminals are no different. They look for easily exploitable weaknesses rather than pinpointing a specific target and trying to find a way in.

Organisations can certify to Cyber Essentials by certifying to each of the scheme’s five controls. If you need help meeting those requirements, Fortis DPC is here to help. We offer help to achieve the required standard and give you the support you need.

The five controls?

  1. Firewall – learn more here
  2. Secure Configuration – learn more here
  3. User Access Control – learn more here
  4. Malware Protection – learn more here
  5. Patch Management – learn more here